Applies to openSUSE Leap 15.0

7 Backing Up User Data

Abstract

The Backup tool is a simple framework to let users back up and restore their own data such as home directories or selected files. It is possible to create scheduled backups or backups on request, and to play back a previous state of this data.

To start the Backups application open the Activities Overview by pressing Meta and search for back.

7.1 Configuring Backups

Before you can start to backup data, configure which files to back up, which ones to ignore and where to store the backup.

  1. Configure which folders to back up by clicking Folders to save. By default, your home directory is preconfigured. Use the plus and minus signs to add or delete folders.

  2. Optionally, configure folders that should be ignored when backing up data by clicking Folders to ignore. By default the trash bin and the Download directory are preconfigured. Use the plus and minus signs to add or delete folders.

  3. To define a location where to store the backup, click Storage Location. You may choose a Local Folder, a Network Server, or an cloud storage. If you opt for the latter, either choose an existing service from the list or add a service by clicking Open Online Account Settings. Make sure you have provided your login credentials for the respective online service via Open Online Account Settings.

    Regardless of the Storage location, provide a directory name under which the backup(s) will be stored. It is recommended to choose a name that can easily be associated with backups for the respective machine and data.

7.2 Creating Backups

Once you have configured which folders to back up and where to store them, you have two choices for backing up. First, by manually starting the backup. Switch to the Overview screen and click Back Up Now. Choose whether you want to protect the backup with a password or not. Proceed with Forward.

The second option is to schedule automatic backups: Create a backup schedule by clicking Scheduling. Enter the backup frequency and decide how long to keep backups. Enable scheduled backups by turning the Automatic Backup switch On.

7.3 Restoring Data

To restore a previous state of your data, switch to the Overview screen and click Restore.

  1. Choose a backup location, a directory name and proceed with Forward.

  2. Select the backup date which you want to restore and proceed with Forward.

  3. Choose whether to restore the files from the backup to their original location or to a different directory. Proceed with Forward.

  4. Review your settings. If necessary, go Back to change them. To start restoring data from the backup, click Restore.

Print this page